h1

For the Love of the Game..

July 30, 2009

I love baseball. I love the sights. I love the smells. I love the power it has to impact people’s lives and bring people together. I love that I can be having a horrible day, but as soon as I enter the ballpark my mood is suddenly changed. Baseball is America’s pastime and has been there through the ups and downs of our country. I’ve always enjoyed baseball, because it was genuine. The players loved the game. They went out there day in and day out, because baseball was their life.

Lately, however, I find myself questioning that.

Manny Ramirez and David Ortiz are the latest names released that are among the list of roughly 100 players that tested positive in 2003. They find themselves among Sammy Sosa, Alex Rodriguez and more. The truth is, I’m not surprised. The MLB is dropping names of players that many have assumed were using enhancing drugs. My problem with all of this is the effect that it’s having on Major League Baseball. Steroid use is tainting baseball. It’s taking away the charm and grandeur of the game. It’s taking away my admiration for some of the players I’ve respected since I was young. I know there was and still is steroid use, but I need to stop hearing about it in order for my respect for the sport to resume.

We all know that the infamous list is out there, but by leaking the names one by one we are constantly being reminded of the dark side of baseball. I’m constantly being reminded that maybe not all of baseball is genuine. Leaking the names one by one is damaging to baseball’s reputation. And I personally don’t want to see my sport hurt like that.

So what now? Should players pay for what they did in 2003? Is their name being released damage enough? Should all the names be released at once? My heart is hurting for the game right now and something needs to be done about it..For the love of the game..

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

One comment

  1. It’s sad but true. Juicers are in every sport-track, football, wrestling, baksteball, all of them. http://bobbygee.wordpress.com/



Leave a Reply

